For property investors
What is your portfolio worth, and what is it costing you to hold?
My Portfolio answers both from figures you enter yourself. Values, loan balances, rates, rents, strata, insurance. Two places or six, each with its own loans, costs and rent attached to it.
Your property portfolio
How much of it you own
Three properties, one figure. A fourth with no value entered would be left out of the value while its loan stayed counted, and the app would say one property was left out.
It is free. Nothing to install, and no bank connection to authorise.
How do I work out the equity in a portfolio?
Portfolio equity is the value you entered for each property, less every loan you have attached to one. Both sides are your own figures. An equity loan against a place you own attaches to that place the same way its mortgage does, and counts in what is owed.
A property with no value entered is left out of the value. Its loan is still counted. The figure comes out short rather than flattering, and the app states how many properties were left out instead of quietly dropping them. An unvalued property is excluded from your net position rather than estimated.
Each property also has its own screen: what it is worth, what is owed against it, your equity in it, and how much of it you own. The value stays exactly as you entered it and is never re-estimated. Where more is owed against a property than the value you entered, the app states it as it stands: on those figures none of it is yours yet.
Available equity, and what it is not
Available equity is 80% of the value you entered, less what you owe. It is rounded down, and it is nil when you owe more than 80% of that value — which the app says in words.
80% is the level above which lenders usually add mortgage insurance. It is a common convention, not a rule, and your lender may use a different one.
It is not what any lender will lend you.
What a lender advances depends on your income, your expenses, the rate and that lender's own assessment, none of which this app performs. My Portfolio does not state a borrowing capacity, does not name a lender, a rate or a product, and does not suggest refinancing. The figure is arithmetic on the value and the balances you typed, and it stops there.
What does a rental cost to hold?
Rent against running costs and loan interest, across the whole portfolio, shown per fortnight or per month. Rent quoted weekly is entered weekly; rates billed yearly are entered yearly. Nothing is converted before it is stored.
What it costs to hold
Your properties cost $721 more than they earn, each fortnight.
Principal is not a cost
The part of a repayment that comes off what you owe moves into what you own rather than leaving, so it is excluded. Interest is the cost, and it is worked out from the balance and the rate on each loan, after any offset.
A loan with no rate is counted, not guessed
A loan with a repayment but no interest rate cannot be split, so its interest is absent from the figure. The app says how many loans that applies to rather than letting the portfolio look cheaper to hold than it is. Anything you have not attached to a property is not in the figure either.
Gross yield and net yield, both named
Per property, side by side, both labelled. Gross yield is a year of the rent you entered against the value you entered. Net yield is the same after a year of that property's running costs. They are different questions, so the app labels both rather than showing one unlabelled figure.
Gross yield
4.6%
a year of rent, against its value
Net yield
3.4%
after its running costs
Loan interest is taken off neither. How you pay for a place is a separate question from what the place earns — two households with the same house and the same rent would otherwise report different net yields because one of them borrowed more.
Both are rounded down to a tenth of a percent. Without a current value, or with no rent entered, neither is stated at all: a yield the app has no figures for is not shown as 0.0%. A yield below a tenth of a percent is written as "under 0.1%".
A net yield below zero is stated as it is. It is not coloured, flagged or called a loss. A cost that is named but has no amount yet is left out rather than counted as zero, and the app says net yield is reading higher than your own entries support.
An offset account, against the loan it offsets
Link a cash account to a loan and the interest on that loan is worked out on the balance after the account comes off. Move the balance and the interest follows it. More than one account can point at the same loan.
Only a loan carrying an interest rate can be offset. Against a debt with no rate there is no interest to reduce, so the app does not offer it rather than leaving a link that looks connected and does nothing.
It does not tell you what the offset saves you. It shows the interest on the balance after the offset, and it says whether that figure came from an account you linked or from an offset amount you typed on the loan itself.
How much of each repayment is interest?
Across every loan attached to a property: what leaves your account, how much of it is interest, and how much comes off what you owe. It is worked out from the balance and the rate on each loan as they stand today. It does not amortise, does not work out a payoff date and draws no curve into the future.
A loan whose repayment does not cover its own interest is counted and stated, not averaged into the total. A loan with no rate is not split, and that count is stated too.
The interest here is the same interest counted in what the portfolio costs to hold. One figure seen from two sides, not two costs — and the app says so, so nobody adds them together.
Entering the bills without typing their names
Tap the category, tap the bill, enter the amount. Council Rates, Body Corporate, Strata Fees, Land Tax, Water Rates and Rental Management are all in the list, which holds 143 Australian bill names across twenty categories.
Each rent, cost and loan is attached to the property it belongs to, which is what makes the per-property figures possible. A household shares one portfolio and both people see everything; each person sets what their own screens lead with, so one of you can open on the property figures while the other opens on spending.
Everything comes back out: four spreadsheets and a JSON file, free, from More. They carry what you entered rather than what the app worked out, so the export does not move when the app's arithmetic changes.
What it does not do
Stated up front, because for a property investor these are the four that matter.
- It does not value your properties.
- No listing data, no automated valuation, no market feed. The value is the one you entered, and it does not move until you change it.
- It does not connect to your bank or your lender.
- Balances, rates and repayments are typed in. There is no login to hand over and nothing is fetched.
- It does not say what you can borrow.
- No borrowing capacity, no lender, no rate, no product, no suggestion to refinance. It is arithmetic on your own figures and it is not financial advice.
- It does not round in your favour.
- Available equity and both yields are rounded down. A line named but not costed is excluded from the total and reported as excluded, never counted as zero.
Common questions
How do I work out the equity in a property portfolio?
Portfolio equity is the value entered for each property, less every loan attached to one. In My Portfolio a property with no value entered is left out of the value while its loan is still counted, so the figure comes out short rather than flattering, and the app states how many properties were left out.
What is available equity?
Available equity in My Portfolio is 80% of the value you entered, less what you owe, rounded down and nil when you owe more than 80% of that value. 80% is the level above which lenders usually add mortgage insurance. It is a common convention, not a rule, and your lender may use a different one. It is not what any lender will lend you.
What does an investment property cost to hold?
My Portfolio sets the rent you entered against the running costs attached to the property and the interest on its loans. Loan principal is left out, because it comes off what you owe rather than leaving.
What is the difference between gross yield and net yield?
Gross yield is a year of the rent entered against the value entered. Net yield is the same after a year of that property’s running costs. Loan interest is taken off neither. My Portfolio shows both, labelled, per property, each rounded down to a tenth of a percent.
How does an offset account change the figures?
Link a cash account to a loan and interest is worked out on the balance after that account comes off. My Portfolio does not state what the offset saves you; it shows the interest on the balance after it.
Start with one property
Enter one place, its loan and its rent, and the equity, holding cost and yield figures appear for it. Add the rest when you have the numbers in front of you. It runs in your browser and there are iPhone and Android apps, on one account.
Open it in your browser Ask a question
Free. There is no paid plan, and nothing here is held back behind one.